Before Anything Else

Before anything else, I am a human being.
Before the ambitions for my career.
Before the lifestyle I choose to live.
Before the religion labeled on me.
Before the orders mandated to me.
I am first and foremost, a human being. And so is everyone else.

After all, they are human beings.
Trying to make their mark after all.
Taking a shot at happiness after all.
Waiting to come home after all.
Waited by their family after all.
At the end of the day, they are human beings. And I am too.

mid-June 2016

Leave a Reply

